Six Little Ducks – a toddler time sing-along story app and ebook

9781619381919_p0_v1_s260x420Six playful little ducks take children on a first fun adventure.


Bibliographic Info:  Thompson, Kim M.  Six Little Ducks  Twin Sisters  (2012) 16pp  $10.99  Formats:  Paperback, App ($1.99), eBook, Board Book,eBook ISBN-13: 9781619381919, Kindle, CD  Interest Level: babies-preK  Genre: Sing-along/Music, Movement  Themes: Music, Animals, Curiosity


StorytimeWow_FinalLogo-1Six Little Ducks was given the StorytimeWOW Marquee Seal on May 13th, 2015 and has been selected for the AppWOW, PictureBookWOW and Picture eBookWOW collections at storytimeWOW.com.


Summary:  Six Little Ducks quack, wobble and march in a line led by one little duck “with the feather on his back” in this sing-along adventure.  Available in print and electronic formats (animated eBook formats and an interactive app), Six Little Ducks teaches kids to count from one to six while cultivating vocabulary, phonological awareness and print awareness.

th-2Review:  This classic story song, now available in analog and digital formats, is an fun and engaging experience for toddlers and preschoolers.  The colorful and animated illustrations amusingly depict the playful behavior of these six wacky little ducks. Little children will enjoy following the story and singing along.  In the meantime, the activity helps children learn the numbers 1 through 6 and cultivates early literacy skills.

Storytime: th-1Use the original track and the eBook projected on a large screen to create a delightful and interactive sing-along activity during storytime.  The track sings the story while children follow along with each page.

Read-alikesBaby Beluga by Raffi, Five Little Ducks by Raffi, Chicka Chicka Boom Boom by John Archambault

Links:  author’s website, Amazon

Other Review:  Barnes & Noble, Goodreads, Amazon MP3

I chose to include this engaging story song because it will delight toddlers.

3Make Reading More Fun


Written by Tom Schween, founder of storytimeWOW!

Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site – captivating rhymes and appealing characters abound

9780545480581_xlg

One by one, the mighty trucks on a construction site begin to shut down and rest for the day.


Bibliographic Info:  Lichtenheld, Tom & Rinker, Sherri D. Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site Simon & Schuster (2011) 32pp.  Formats: Hardcover, ISBN: 978- 0811877824 $16.99, iBook, Kindle, Audible, Audio CD, App  Grade Level Equivalent: 3.4  Interest Level: preK-K  Genre: Bedtime, Rhyming  Themes: Building and Construction, Vehicles

Summary:  From bulldozer to dump truck, the mighty trucks on a construction site begin to shut down and rest for the day.  After each character performs its final job, it drifts off to dream land.


StorytimeWow_FinalLogo-1Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site was given StorytimeWOW’s Marquee Seal on May 12th, 2015.  This book has been selected for the Picture BookWOW and AppWOW collections on this site.


th-2Review:  In this picture book gem, the setting sun casts a glowing light across the construction site as all the hardworking trucks shut down for the day.  One by one, story readers and listeners meet a colorful cast of truck personalities, including Crane Truck, Cement Mixer, Dump Truck, Bulldozer, and Excavator.  While celebrating the joy of being a truck on a construction site, the story’s highly rhythmic verse casts a glowing light on the characters as well.  The book’s gentle and textured oil pastel illustrations are unforgettable.  This heartwarming picture book belongs on your family truck fan’s bookshelf.

th-1Storytime:  This picture book makes an ideal read-aloud for vehicle-themed or bedtime-themed storytimes.  It will definitely appeal to all those car and truck-loving toddlers and preschoolers.  It also makes an excellent bedtime book.  Ask children to help you tell the story during the “Goodnight” part of each truck’s mini-chapter.  Say something like “Cement Mixer is going to sleep!  What wish can we all send to Cement Mixer?”  Prompt kids to echo “Goodnight Cement Mixer!” 


th-5Read-alikes:  Little Blue Truck by Alice Schertle, Where Do Diggers Sleep at Night?, by Brianna Caplan Sayres, Giraffes Can’t Dance, by Giles Andreae

Links:  Author’s Website, Scholastic, Amazon

Other Review Links:  Common Sense Media, Goodreads, Kirkus App Review,

Why I chose to review this book?  This pajama storytime read-aloud’s captivating rhymes and appealing characters make for excellent group programming and bedtime  reading.

3Make Reading More Fun


Written by Tom Schween, founder of storytimeWOW!

Don’t Let the Pigeon Run This App – an interactive storytelling extension for the popular Pigeon books

thMo Willems meets Mad Libs to create a ridiculously fun and interactive storytelling experience for kids.


Bibliographic Info:  Willems, Mo  Don’t Let the Pigeon Run This App  Hyperion (2011)  Formats: $6.99,  App  Interest Level: PreK-Grade 1  Genre: Comedy and Humor, Spin-off Apps


Summary:  Don’t Let The Pigeon Run This App! is a spin-off of the popular Pigeon series by Mo Willems that began with Don’t Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus.  With this animated app, children can listen to a randomly generated story featuring the famous Pigeon character or create an origth-1inal story.  Older kids get to use their imaginations and add original vocal pieces to the story, while little kids can play along by answering multiple-choice questions.  Kid’s voices are recorded for playback within the context of the story. The app also features a tutorial about how to draw the Willem’s star pigeon.


th-6Review:  Don’t Let the Pigeon Run This App appeals to kids of all ages by presenting users with three types of entertaining story experiences.  These experiences, which range from passive to highly interactive, include:  a pure listening experience, a multiple-choice fill-in-the-blank experience, and a Mad Lib-style voice recording experience.  One nice feature is the app’s “vault” which children can use to save their favorite story creations.  The app includes a wonderful “Draw With Mo” feature that teaches users how to draw the Pigeon character.  The app is brimming with Mo Willems’s silly and exaggerated comedic style.  For example, the child’s “Draw With Mo” drawing later appears in the story as a “priceless piece of art.”  Users may also take a pic of their Pigeon creation to save for posterity.  While this app is both highly engaging and entertaining (for kids of all ages), the number and variety of experiences the user may have with it are limited.

th-2Storytime:  After reading Don’t Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus, shift to this fun spin-off app to add a storytelling extension that will deepen children’s narrative awareness.  In the app, prompt groups to answer fill-in-the-blanks to create an original (and ridiculously funny) story, then play it back for your group.


Play-alikes: The Monster at the End of This Book (the Little Golden Book, eBook and App), The Wheels on the Bus (App) by Duck Duck Moose

Links:  App websiteth-4

Other Review Links:  Common Sense Media, School Library Journal, MacWorld

I chose to review this app because it came from the genius comedic mind of Mo Willems.


3Make Reading More Fun