Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site – captivating rhymes and appealing characters abound

9780545480581_xlg

One by one, the mighty trucks on a construction site begin to shut down and rest for the day.


Bibliographic Info:  Lichtenheld, Tom & Rinker, Sherri D. Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site Simon & Schuster (2011) 32pp.  Formats: Hardcover, ISBN: 978- 0811877824 $16.99, iBook, Kindle, Audible, Audio CD, App  Grade Level Equivalent: 3.4  Interest Level: preK-K  Genre: Bedtime, Rhyming  Themes: Building and Construction, Vehicles

Summary:  From bulldozer to dump truck, the mighty trucks on a construction site begin to shut down and rest for the day.  After each character performs its final job, it drifts off to dream land.


StorytimeWow_FinalLogo-1Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site was given StorytimeWOW’s Marquee Seal on May 12th, 2015.  This book has been selected for the Picture BookWOW and AppWOW collections on this site.


th-2Review:  In this picture book gem, the setting sun casts a glowing light across the construction site as all the hardworking trucks shut down for the day.  One by one, story readers and listeners meet a colorful cast of truck personalities, including Crane Truck, Cement Mixer, Dump Truck, Bulldozer, and Excavator.  While celebrating the joy of being a truck on a construction site, the story’s highly rhythmic verse casts a glowing light on the characters as well.  The book’s gentle and textured oil pastel illustrations are unforgettable.  This heartwarming picture book belongs on your family truck fan’s bookshelf.

th-1Storytime:  This picture book makes an ideal read-aloud for vehicle-themed or bedtime-themed storytimes.  It will definitely appeal to all those car and truck-loving toddlers and preschoolers.  It also makes an excellent bedtime book.  Ask children to help you tell the story during the “Goodnight” part of each truck’s mini-chapter.  Say something like “Cement Mixer is going to sleep!  What wish can we all send to Cement Mixer?”  Prompt kids to echo “Goodnight Cement Mixer!” 


th-5Read-alikes:  Little Blue Truck by Alice Schertle, Where Do Diggers Sleep at Night?, by Brianna Caplan Sayres, Giraffes Can’t Dance, by Giles Andreae

Links:  Author’s Website, Scholastic, Amazon

Other Review Links:  Common Sense Media, Goodreads, Kirkus App Review,

Why I chose to review this book?  This pajama storytime read-aloud’s captivating rhymes and appealing characters make for excellent group programming and bedtime  reading.

3Make Reading More Fun


Written by Tom Schween, founder of storytimeWOW!

Animal Sounds – a “Fun Toddler Game” for storytime

thAnimal Sounds – Fun Toddler Game is an app that may be used as a transitional story stretch during storytime programs.


Bibliographic Info:  Animal Sounds – Fun Toddler Game  Innovative Mobile Apps/Alligator Apps (2011)  Format: App  Interest Level: kids ages 4+  Genre: Nonfiction, Games  Themes: Animal Sounds

Summary:  The Animal Sounds – Fun Toddler Game app is a simple and elegant tool for teaching animal sounds and vocabulary.

StorytimeWow_FinalLogo-1Animal Sounds – Fun Toddler Game was given StorytimeWOW’s Marquee Seal on April 15th, 2015.  This material has been selected for the AppWOW collection.


th-2Review:  Animal Sounds – Fun Toddler Game is an app that functions as a tool for teaching animal sounds and vocabulary to young children.  The app’s strengths lie in its simple design and usability as a guessing game.  When you tap your iPad to access this app there is no long intro.  An easy menu page pops up with many animal flash cards to choose from.  In manual mode, tap on an animal and you will hear its sound.  Children can guess the name of the animal.  It’s that easy.  The images, which are actual pictures of animals (not illustrations), provide kids with real world information.  The animal sounds range from easy to unrecognizable.  Several will even inspire giggles.


th-1Storytime:  This app makes a fun guessing game during storytime.  All you need is your iPad and a bluetooth speaker for larger groups.  Introduce the game like this:  “Let’s play animal sounds!  Turn on your listening ears.  What’s the name of this animal?”  Tap on a flash card and the animal sound will play.  After kids guess, flip the iPad around to reveal the animal.  Spell out the animal’s name, pointing letter to letter, and then sound it out.  Have the children echo and join in.  Finally, pronounce the animal’s name and cue kids to echo it back.  Choose another animal and repeat a few times.


1. Animal Sounds – Fun Toddler Game provides parents with opportunities to use the following Early Literacy-Building Parent Practices (see full list of parent practices here):

  • Talking – Children learn about language by listening to parents and caregivers talk and by joining in conversation. Talking, telling stories and stretching conversations helps children learn new words, learn to express themselves and learn how to have a conversation.
  • Reading – Reading together remains the single most effective way to help children become proficient readers. Children who enjoy being read to are more likely to want to learn to read themselves. Reading together develops vocabulary, comprehension, and general knowledge needed to understand other books and stories when they are older. Reading introduces children to “rare” words that they may not hear in everyday conversation.
  • Playing – Play is one of the primary ways young children learn about how the world works and learn language. Play helps children practice putting their thoughts into words.

 


2. Animal Sounds – Fun Toddler Game supports these Common Core Guidelines (see full list here):

  • Add information-focused content and materials that broaden knowledge of the real world.
  • Integrate new media materials and technology in classroom settings. Cultivate media literacy behaviors through modeling.
  • Create a more participatory culture in group programs and classroom settings.  Use materials that invite participation and keep learners engaged.

I chose to review the Animal Sounds – Fun Toddler Game app because LittleeLit.com recommends it for use during digital storytime programs.

3Make Reading More Fun


Written by Tom Schween, founder of storytimeWOW!

Wee Sing & Learn ABC – “Today’s storytime is brought to you by the letter…”

ABC-app-logoWee Sing & Learn ABC is a useful app for teaching letter awareness and it also includes a singable “ABC Song” music video.


Bibliographic Info:  Wee Sing & Learn ABC Cupcake Digital/Wee Sing/Penguin (2014)  Format: App, Music Video  Interest Level: kids ages 2 to 6  Genre: Sing-along  Themes: ABCs, Animals, Musical Instruments

Summary:  Wee Sing & Learn ABC combines the ABCs with original music, animated animals and musical instruments.  The app also includes a singable version of the ABC Song in video form that includes onscreen lyrics.

StorytimeWow_FinalLogo-1Wee Sing & Learn ABC was given StorytimeWOW’s Marquee Seal on April 11th, 2015.  This material has been selected for the AppWOW and MusicVideoWOW collections.


shot-2Review:  Wee Sing & Learn ABC is an app that functions as a tool for teaching letter knowledge to young children.  There are two useful pieces of this app for storytime.  The first is a singable version of the ABC song.  Onscreen letters and lyrics are visually highlighted to encourage audiences to sing along.  The short and sweet video works as an open or transition during storytime.  The second useful piece of this app for storytime, letter-focused interactive “pages”, are accessed by tapping “read to myself” or “explore animals” on the main menu.  This feature provides viewers with a menu of letter-themed pages for the entire alphabet.  Each page spotlights one letter and features both an animal and musical instrument that begins with that letter.  The pages also include various sounds and pictures that begin with the page’s letter.  This app’s visuals are colorful and easy to comprehend.  However, the audio of the animal sounds is a bit muddy.


shot-4Storytime:  Use this app’s sing along ABC Song and Music Video as a storytime open or transition.  Check out the music video below (it’s accessible from within the app or on YouTube).  Each letter-themed page can function as a storytime “letter of the day”.  For example, using your iPad and AppleTV, bring up one of these pages on your big screen and create an echo game saying:

“Today’s storytime is brought to you by the letter… G. Can you make the sound g-g-g?   Repeat after me… gladys… the goose… plays the gong.”


1. Wee Sing & Learn ABC provides parents with opportunities to use the following Early Literacy-Building Parent Practices (see full list of parent practices here):

  • Playing is a primary way in which children learn language (and this book is very playful).
  • Singing together is a fun bonding experience with your child.  Musical experiences cultivate brain development and teach children concepts such as steady beat, rhythm and tempo.

2. Wee Sing & Learn ABC supports the following Common Core Guidelines (see full list here):

  • Add information-focused content and materials that broaden knowledge of the real world.
  • Integrate new media materials and technology in classroom settings. Cultivate media literacy behaviors through modeling.
  • Create a more participatory culture in group programs and classroom settings.  Use materials that invite participation and keep learners engaged.

I chose to review the Wee Sing & Learn ABC app because LittleeLit.com recommends using it in digital storytime programs.1


Written by Tom Schween, founder of storytimeWOW!