Six Little Ducks – a toddler time sing-along story app and ebook

9781619381919_p0_v1_s260x420Six playful little ducks take children on a first fun adventure.


Bibliographic Info:  Thompson, Kim M.  Six Little Ducks  Twin Sisters  (2012) 16pp  $10.99  Formats:  Paperback, App ($1.99), eBook, Board Book,eBook ISBN-13: 9781619381919, Kindle, CD  Interest Level: babies-preK  Genre: Sing-along/Music, Movement  Themes: Music, Animals, Curiosity


StorytimeWow_FinalLogo-1Six Little Ducks was given the StorytimeWOW Marquee Seal on May 13th, 2015 and has been selected for the AppWOW, PictureBookWOW and Picture eBookWOW collections at storytimeWOW.com.


Summary:  Six Little Ducks quack, wobble and march in a line led by one little duck “with the feather on his back” in this sing-along adventure.  Available in print and electronic formats (animated eBook formats and an interactive app), Six Little Ducks teaches kids to count from one to six while cultivating vocabulary, phonological awareness and print awareness.

th-2Review:  This classic story song, now available in analog and digital formats, is an fun and engaging experience for toddlers and preschoolers.  The colorful and animated illustrations amusingly depict the playful behavior of these six wacky little ducks. Little children will enjoy following the story and singing along.  In the meantime, the activity helps children learn the numbers 1 through 6 and cultivates early literacy skills.

Storytime: th-1Use the original track and the eBook projected on a large screen to create a delightful and interactive sing-along activity during storytime.  The track sings the story while children follow along with each page.

Read-alikesBaby Beluga by Raffi, Five Little Ducks by Raffi, Chicka Chicka Boom Boom by John Archambault

Links:  author’s website, Amazon

Other Review:  Barnes & Noble, Goodreads, Amazon MP3

I chose to include this engaging story song because it will delight toddlers.

3Make Reading More Fun


Written by Tom Schween, founder of storytimeWOW!

Down by the Bay – a classic story song with some seriously silly moms

th-29A boy and a girl imagine their mothers asking wacky questions in this classic sing-along story.


Bibliographic Info:  Raffi  Down by the Bay Crown Books for Young Readers (1999)  32pp  $6.99 Formats:  Board Book, Paperback ISBN-13: 978-0517800584, Reading Level: 2.5  Interest Level: Toddler-2nd grade  Genre: Sing-Along/Music, Rhymes  Themes: Creativity, Imagination, Moms


Down bStorytimeWow_FinalLogo-1y the Bay was given the StorytimeWOW Marquee Seal on May 12th, 2015 and has been selected for the PictureBookWOW collection at storytimeWOW.com.


thSummary:  Down by the Bay is one of Raffi’s most popular songs available in picture book format.  The story song unfolds in each of its verses which build up to the song’s singable chorus.  Two children imagine their mothers asking silly questions like, “Did you ever see a goose kissing a moose?”, “Did you ever see a fly wearing a tie?”, and “Did you ever see llamas eating pajamas?”  Each verse ends with an exuberant “down by the bay.”

Review:  In this story, bright colors and crooked lines effectively depict silly kids, mothers and animals. The book’s celebratory ending includes all of the song’s ridiculous characters.  As with all Raffi’s singable books, the music is conveniently included.  Toddlers and preschoolers will be entertained and educated by this story song’s joyful use of the three r’s:  rhythm, rhyme and repetition.

th-31Storytime:  In storytime, just hit play, sing-along and turn the pages.  Children will quickly catch on and even make up their own silly verses.  Just ask them what else someone might see down by the bay.  This is one of those books that needs to be made available in a digital format so it can be projected on a big screen during storytime.

Significance:  Down by the Bay has been one of Raffi’s best-loved creations since it was published in 1988.

Read-alikesBaby Beluga by Raffi, Five Little Ducks by Raffi, Chicka Chicka Boom Boom by John Archambault, Whole World by Christopher Corr

Links:  author’s website, Amazon

Other Review:  Barnes & Noble, Goodreads

I chose to review Down by the Bay because the tune is infectious and the lyrics are ridiculous.

3Make Reading More Fun


Chicka Chicka Boom Boom – teach letter knowledge with this cheerful story song

th-1“A told B, and B told C, I’ll meet you at the top of the coconut tree.”


Bibliographic Info:  Archambault, J. & Martin Jr., Chicka Chicka Boom Boom  Little Simon 36pp. $7.99  Formats: Hardcover (1989) ISBN: 978-1442450707, Paperback, Board Book, Kindle, iBook, Audio CD  Reading Level: 1.9  Interest Level: K-2  Genre: Alphabet Book, Rhyming Story  Major Themes: Alphabet Recognition

Summary:  This classic story song in eBook format makes a wondeful activity for digital storytime.  All 26 letter characters in this rhyming story climb the coconut tree until it begins to bend under all the weight.  When all the little letters end up in a pile, adults come running.  


StorytimeWow_FinalLogo-1Chicka Chicka Boom Boom was selected for the PictureBookWOW, Picture eBookWOW and MusicVideoWOW collections at storytimeWOW.com.


th-4Review:  This upbeat rhyming story ingeniously casts all the lowercase letters of the alphabet as playful kids (and the uppercase versions as their parents).  The kids race each other up the coconut tree, but “will there be enough room?”  Kids will be delighted by the letter’s mischievous antics, the bouncy rhymes, the inviting repetition, and the personification of little and big letters. This catchy chant features a rainbow of brightly colored letters that look like refrigerator magnets. Lois Ehlert’s illustrations show the vibrant green palm bending more and more as the pages turn.  The original text introduces the 26 uppercase “mamas and papas and uncles and aunts.”

th-3 Storytime:  Create a sing-along story activity for one-on-one or group storytime by using the eBook with musical track, or opt for the adorable music video (below).


  

Chicka Chicka Boom Boom Music Video


th-5Readalikes:  Readalikes include Chicka Chicka 1, 2, 3 by Bill Martin Jr., John Archambault and Lois Ehrlert, and Boom Chicka Rock by John Archambault

Links:  author’s website, Scholastic

Awards/Honors: 

Other Reviews:  Common Sense Media  Goodreads

I chose to review this singable eBook to add dimension to the digital collections in this materials database.

3Make Reading More Fun


Written by Tom Schween, founder of storytimeWOW!