Itsy Bitsy Spider – go beyond the water-spout with this inspiring story song

9135HIMdpvLThe Itsy Bitsy Spider ventures beyond the water-spout in this singable picture book available in both print and digital formats.


Bibliographic Info:  Trapani, Iza  Itsy Bitsy Spider  Charlesbridge (1993)  32pp  $7.95  Formats: Board Book, Paperback ISBN-13: 978-1879085695, eBook, Audiobook  Reading Level:  K-2  Interest Level: 2-7 years old  Genre: Sing-along/Music, Nursery Rhymes, Movement  Themes: Music, Animals, Cleverness, Perseverance


StorytimeWow_FinalLogo-1Itsy Bitsy Spider was given the StorytimeWOW Marquee Seal on May 14th, 2015 and has been selected for the PictureBookWOW and Picture eBookWOW collection at storytimeWOW.com.


Summary:   The classic Itsy Bitsy Spider is a traditional sing-along, fingerplay and story about a dedicated little spider with a lot of perseverance.  Iza Trapani’s picture book, now available in a singable eBook format, adds adventures beyond the water-spout with a cat, mouse, rocking chair and a tree.  Its ending is all new too!

thReview:  Iza Trapani’s Itsy Bitsy Spider musical picture book was released with a corresponding CD in 1993.  This follow-along story and song cleverly builds on the traditional fingerplay, taking readers on adventures with fans, mice, and cats.  Finally, the little eight-legged heroine climbs a tree, spins her web and takes a well-deserved rest. The joyful  music compliments Trapani’s lush illustrations.  This inspiring adventure is now available as an eBook for use in digital storytime.

Storytime: th-2 The illustrations are lush and the spider is small.  In group storytime, use the eBook projected on a big screen to make the illustrations more visible and clear to little kids.  Play the song, turn the digital pages and encourage children to sing-along as Trapani spins new musical adventures for the Itsy Bitsy Spider.


Read-alikesChicka Chicka Boom Boom by John Archambault, I’m a Little Teapot by Iza Trapani, Twinkle Twinkle Little Star by Iza Trapani

Links:  author’s website, Amazon, Scholastic

Other Review:  Barnes & Noble, Goodreads

I reviewed this book because the visuals will add a cognitive component to the classic sing-along during toddler and preK storytimes.

3Make Reading More Fun


Six Little Ducks – a toddler time sing-along story app and ebook

9781619381919_p0_v1_s260x420Six playful little ducks take children on a first fun adventure.


Bibliographic Info:  Thompson, Kim M.  Six Little Ducks  Twin Sisters  (2012) 16pp  $10.99  Formats:  Paperback, App ($1.99), eBook, Board Book,eBook ISBN-13: 9781619381919, Kindle, CD  Interest Level: babies-preK  Genre: Sing-along/Music, Movement  Themes: Music, Animals, Curiosity


StorytimeWow_FinalLogo-1Six Little Ducks was given the StorytimeWOW Marquee Seal on May 13th, 2015 and has been selected for the AppWOW, PictureBookWOW and Picture eBookWOW collections at storytimeWOW.com.


Summary:  Six Little Ducks quack, wobble and march in a line led by one little duck “with the feather on his back” in this sing-along adventure.  Available in print and electronic formats (animated eBook formats and an interactive app), Six Little Ducks teaches kids to count from one to six while cultivating vocabulary, phonological awareness and print awareness.

th-2Review:  This classic story song, now available in analog and digital formats, is an fun and engaging experience for toddlers and preschoolers.  The colorful and animated illustrations amusingly depict the playful behavior of these six wacky little ducks. Little children will enjoy following the story and singing along.  In the meantime, the activity helps children learn the numbers 1 through 6 and cultivates early literacy skills.

Storytime: th-1Use the original track and the eBook projected on a large screen to create a delightful and interactive sing-along activity during storytime.  The track sings the story while children follow along with each page.

Read-alikesBaby Beluga by Raffi, Five Little Ducks by Raffi, Chicka Chicka Boom Boom by John Archambault

Links:  author’s website, Amazon

Other Review:  Barnes & Noble, Goodreads, Amazon MP3

I chose to include this engaging story song because it will delight toddlers.

3Make Reading More Fun


Written by Tom Schween, founder of storytimeWOW!

Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site – captivating rhymes and appealing characters abound

9780545480581_xlg

One by one, the mighty trucks on a construction site begin to shut down and rest for the day.


Bibliographic Info:  Lichtenheld, Tom & Rinker, Sherri D. Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site Simon & Schuster (2011) 32pp.  Formats: Hardcover, ISBN: 978- 0811877824 $16.99, iBook, Kindle, Audible, Audio CD, App  Grade Level Equivalent: 3.4  Interest Level: preK-K  Genre: Bedtime, Rhyming  Themes: Building and Construction, Vehicles

Summary:  From bulldozer to dump truck, the mighty trucks on a construction site begin to shut down and rest for the day.  After each character performs its final job, it drifts off to dream land.


StorytimeWow_FinalLogo-1Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site was given StorytimeWOW’s Marquee Seal on May 12th, 2015.  This book has been selected for the Picture BookWOW and AppWOW collections on this site.


th-2Review:  In this picture book gem, the setting sun casts a glowing light across the construction site as all the hardworking trucks shut down for the day.  One by one, story readers and listeners meet a colorful cast of truck personalities, including Crane Truck, Cement Mixer, Dump Truck, Bulldozer, and Excavator.  While celebrating the joy of being a truck on a construction site, the story’s highly rhythmic verse casts a glowing light on the characters as well.  The book’s gentle and textured oil pastel illustrations are unforgettable.  This heartwarming picture book belongs on your family truck fan’s bookshelf.

th-1Storytime:  This picture book makes an ideal read-aloud for vehicle-themed or bedtime-themed storytimes.  It will definitely appeal to all those car and truck-loving toddlers and preschoolers.  It also makes an excellent bedtime book.  Ask children to help you tell the story during the “Goodnight” part of each truck’s mini-chapter.  Say something like “Cement Mixer is going to sleep!  What wish can we all send to Cement Mixer?”  Prompt kids to echo “Goodnight Cement Mixer!” 


th-5Read-alikes:  Little Blue Truck by Alice Schertle, Where Do Diggers Sleep at Night?, by Brianna Caplan Sayres, Giraffes Can’t Dance, by Giles Andreae

Links:  Author’s Website, Scholastic, Amazon

Other Review Links:  Common Sense Media, Goodreads, Kirkus App Review,

Why I chose to review this book?  This pajama storytime read-aloud’s captivating rhymes and appealing characters make for excellent group programming and bedtime  reading.

3Make Reading More Fun


Written by Tom Schween, founder of storytimeWOW!