Chicka Chicka Boom Boom – teach letter knowledge with this cheerful story song

th-1“A told B, and B told C, I’ll meet you at the top of the coconut tree.”


Bibliographic Info:  Archambault, J. & Martin Jr., Chicka Chicka Boom Boom  Little Simon 36pp. $7.99  Formats: Hardcover (1989) ISBN: 978-1442450707, Paperback, Board Book, Kindle, iBook, Audio CD  Reading Level: 1.9  Interest Level: K-2  Genre: Alphabet Book, Rhyming Story  Major Themes: Alphabet Recognition

Summary:  This classic story song in eBook format makes a wondeful activity for digital storytime.  All 26 letter characters in this rhyming story climb the coconut tree until it begins to bend under all the weight.  When all the little letters end up in a pile, adults come running.  


StorytimeWow_FinalLogo-1Chicka Chicka Boom Boom was selected for the PictureBookWOW, Picture eBookWOW and MusicVideoWOW collections at storytimeWOW.com.


th-4Review:  This upbeat rhyming story ingeniously casts all the lowercase letters of the alphabet as playful kids (and the uppercase versions as their parents).  The kids race each other up the coconut tree, but “will there be enough room?”  Kids will be delighted by the letter’s mischievous antics, the bouncy rhymes, the inviting repetition, and the personification of little and big letters. This catchy chant features a rainbow of brightly colored letters that look like refrigerator magnets. Lois Ehlert’s illustrations show the vibrant green palm bending more and more as the pages turn.  The original text introduces the 26 uppercase “mamas and papas and uncles and aunts.”

th-3 Storytime:  Create a sing-along story activity for one-on-one or group storytime by using the eBook with musical track, or opt for the adorable music video (below).


  

Chicka Chicka Boom Boom Music Video


th-5Readalikes:  Readalikes include Chicka Chicka 1, 2, 3 by Bill Martin Jr., John Archambault and Lois Ehrlert, and Boom Chicka Rock by John Archambault

Links:  author’s website, Scholastic

Awards/Honors: 

Other Reviews:  Common Sense Media  Goodreads

I chose to review this singable eBook to add dimension to the digital collections in this materials database.

3Make Reading More Fun


Written by Tom Schween, founder of storytimeWOW!

Wee Sing & Learn 123 – sing along to the number song

thWee Sing & Learn 123 is a useful app for teaching foundational number knowledge and it features the “123 Song” sing-along in music video format.


Bibliographic Info:  Wee Sing & Learn 123  Cupcake Digital/Wee Sing/Penguin (2014)  Format: App, Music Video  Interest Level: kids ages 2 to 6  Genre: Sing-along  Themes: Numbers and Counting

Summary:  Wee Sing & Learn 123 is a tool for teaching basic number knowledge.  The app includes the singable “123 Song” music video that includes onscreen lyrics.

StorytimeWow_FinalLogo-1Wee Sing & Learn 123 was given StorytimeWOW’s Marquee Seal on April 12th, 2015.  This material has been selected for the AppWOW and MusicVideoWOW collections.


th-2Review:  Wee Sing & Learn 123 is an app that functions as a tool for teaching number knowledge to young children.  The useful piece of this app for storytime is a singable version of the 123 song.  Onscreen letters and lyrics are visually highlighted to encourage audiences to sing along.


th-1Storytime:  This short and catchy sing along  music video works as an open or transition during storytime.  Check out the video below (it’s accessible from within the app or on YouTube).  


1. Wee Sing & Learn 123 provides parents with opportunities to use the following Early Literacy-Building Parent Practices (see full list of parent practices here):

  • Playing is a primary way in which children learn language (and this book is very playful).
  • Singing together is a fun bonding experience with your child.  Musical experiences cultivate brain development and teach children concepts such as steady beat, rhythm and tempo.

2. Wee Sing & Learn 123 supports these Common Core Guidelines (see full list here):

  • Focus on cultivating children’s core knowledge of numbers through number-themed books, songs, and elements that provide young children with a solid foundation in whole numbers, addition, and subtraction.
  • Add information-focused content and materials that broaden knowledge of the real world.
  • Integrate new media materials and technology in classroom settings. Cultivate media literacy behaviors through modeling.
  • Create a more participatory culture in group programs and classroom settings.  Use materials that invite participation and keep learners engaged.

I chose to review the Wee Sing & Learn 123 app because LittleeLit.com recommends using it in digital storytime programs.

3Make Reading More Fun


Written by Tom Schween, founder of storytimeWOW!

Wee Sing & Learn ABC – “Today’s storytime is brought to you by the letter…”

ABC-app-logoWee Sing & Learn ABC is a useful app for teaching letter awareness and it also includes a singable “ABC Song” music video.


Bibliographic Info:  Wee Sing & Learn ABC Cupcake Digital/Wee Sing/Penguin (2014)  Format: App, Music Video  Interest Level: kids ages 2 to 6  Genre: Sing-along  Themes: ABCs, Animals, Musical Instruments

Summary:  Wee Sing & Learn ABC combines the ABCs with original music, animated animals and musical instruments.  The app also includes a singable version of the ABC Song in video form that includes onscreen lyrics.

StorytimeWow_FinalLogo-1Wee Sing & Learn ABC was given StorytimeWOW’s Marquee Seal on April 11th, 2015.  This material has been selected for the AppWOW and MusicVideoWOW collections.


shot-2Review:  Wee Sing & Learn ABC is an app that functions as a tool for teaching letter knowledge to young children.  There are two useful pieces of this app for storytime.  The first is a singable version of the ABC song.  Onscreen letters and lyrics are visually highlighted to encourage audiences to sing along.  The short and sweet video works as an open or transition during storytime.  The second useful piece of this app for storytime, letter-focused interactive “pages”, are accessed by tapping “read to myself” or “explore animals” on the main menu.  This feature provides viewers with a menu of letter-themed pages for the entire alphabet.  Each page spotlights one letter and features both an animal and musical instrument that begins with that letter.  The pages also include various sounds and pictures that begin with the page’s letter.  This app’s visuals are colorful and easy to comprehend.  However, the audio of the animal sounds is a bit muddy.


shot-4Storytime:  Use this app’s sing along ABC Song and Music Video as a storytime open or transition.  Check out the music video below (it’s accessible from within the app or on YouTube).  Each letter-themed page can function as a storytime “letter of the day”.  For example, using your iPad and AppleTV, bring up one of these pages on your big screen and create an echo game saying:

“Today’s storytime is brought to you by the letter… G. Can you make the sound g-g-g?   Repeat after me… gladys… the goose… plays the gong.”


1. Wee Sing & Learn ABC provides parents with opportunities to use the following Early Literacy-Building Parent Practices (see full list of parent practices here):

  • Playing is a primary way in which children learn language (and this book is very playful).
  • Singing together is a fun bonding experience with your child.  Musical experiences cultivate brain development and teach children concepts such as steady beat, rhythm and tempo.

2. Wee Sing & Learn ABC supports the following Common Core Guidelines (see full list here):

  • Add information-focused content and materials that broaden knowledge of the real world.
  • Integrate new media materials and technology in classroom settings. Cultivate media literacy behaviors through modeling.
  • Create a more participatory culture in group programs and classroom settings.  Use materials that invite participation and keep learners engaged.

I chose to review the Wee Sing & Learn ABC app because LittleeLit.com recommends using it in digital storytime programs.1


Written by Tom Schween, founder of storytimeWOW!