Chicka Chicka Boom Boom – teach letter knowledge with this cheerful story song

th-1“A told B, and B told C, I’ll meet you at the top of the coconut tree.”


Bibliographic Info:  Archambault, J. & Martin Jr., Chicka Chicka Boom Boom  Little Simon 36pp. $7.99  Formats: Hardcover (1989) ISBN: 978-1442450707, Paperback, Board Book, Kindle, iBook, Audio CD  Reading Level: 1.9  Interest Level: K-2  Genre: Alphabet Book, Rhyming Story  Major Themes: Alphabet Recognition

Summary:  This classic story song in eBook format makes a wondeful activity for digital storytime.  All 26 letter characters in this rhyming story climb the coconut tree until it begins to bend under all the weight.  When all the little letters end up in a pile, adults come running.  


StorytimeWow_FinalLogo-1Chicka Chicka Boom Boom was selected for the PictureBookWOW, Picture eBookWOW and MusicVideoWOW collections at storytimeWOW.com.


th-4Review:  This upbeat rhyming story ingeniously casts all the lowercase letters of the alphabet as playful kids (and the uppercase versions as their parents).  The kids race each other up the coconut tree, but “will there be enough room?”  Kids will be delighted by the letter’s mischievous antics, the bouncy rhymes, the inviting repetition, and the personification of little and big letters. This catchy chant features a rainbow of brightly colored letters that look like refrigerator magnets. Lois Ehlert’s illustrations show the vibrant green palm bending more and more as the pages turn.  The original text introduces the 26 uppercase “mamas and papas and uncles and aunts.”

th-3 Storytime:  Create a sing-along story activity for one-on-one or group storytime by using the eBook with musical track, or opt for the adorable music video (below).


  

Chicka Chicka Boom Boom Music Video


th-5Readalikes:  Readalikes include Chicka Chicka 1, 2, 3 by Bill Martin Jr., John Archambault and Lois Ehrlert, and Boom Chicka Rock by John Archambault

Links:  author’s website, Scholastic

Awards/Honors: 

Other Reviews:  Common Sense Media  Goodreads

I chose to review this singable eBook to add dimension to the digital collections in this materials database.

3Make Reading More Fun


Written by Tom Schween, founder of storytimeWOW!