Dragons Love Tacos – absurd irresistable fun

6134wX4O4CL._SX260_Dragons love tacos and parties, but what about spicy salsa with jalapenos?


Bibliographic Info:  Rubin, Adam (author), Salmieri, Daniel (illustrator) Dragons Love Tacos  Dial Books for Young Readers (2012)  32pp. Formats: Hardcover ISBN 978-1-101 – 64233-7 $16.99,  Paperback, Kindle, iBook, Audible CD/Audiobook, Grade Level: 3.1 Interest Level: preK-1  Genre: Comedy and Humor Themes:  Dragons, Cooking

Summary:  The story begins by informing listeners that dragons love three things: tacos, parties, and taco parties.  But as the story cautions, dragons hate spicy salsa.  What happens next is a taco party for dragons (of course).  Before the party, all the spicy salsa is buried in the backyard. But wait, what are those little green things in the mild salsa?  A fiery conclusion awaits.

StorytimeWow_FinalLogo-1Dragons Love Tacos was given the StorytimeWOW Marquee Seal on March 19th, 2015.  This book meets the StorytimeWOW Standards and has been selected for the PictureBookWOW and Picture eBookWOW collections on this site.  Read the Storytime section below for tips on how to use this material in your storytime.


curious_avatarReview:  Dragons Love Tacos is a fantastic read aloud that grows funnier with each page. What gives this instant classic so much flavor?  The story is fresh and child-centered.  The narrative voice is humorous (in its matter-of-fact presentation of the book’s absurd premise). Clever illustrations will bring smiles to listener’s faces.  The good news is that Dragons Love Tacos is available in the iBook format for iPad.  Now, the funny business portrayed in smaller illustrations, such as flying flaming tacos and smaller dragon’s myriad expressions, may be seen by all during a group storytime.

Bibliotherapeutic Usefulness:  Simply put, this book is for entertainment.  Its usefulness lies in the virtue of reading for enjoyment (and perhaps reading the fine print on salsa labels).

Storytime:  In groups or one-on-one storytimes, Dragons Love Tacos is a hit.  The story sweeps both reader and listener up in a ridiculous premise that builds to a fiery climax.  During storytime, the reader is cast as an authority on the story’s unexpected subject.  Entertaining illustrations will make kids want to read it again.  The book includes ideas that may be used to encourage participation.  When reading the book aloud, make the story interactive by quizzing your listeners on these four questions:

  1. What do dragons love?  (tacos) preview_135854.dd
  2. What else do dragons love? (parties)
  3. What do dragons love more than tacos and parties? (taco parties)
  4. What do dragons hate? (spicy salsa)

About the Authors:  Adam Rubin is a Creative Director at an ad agency in New York.  By night, he’s an award-winning children’s book author.  On his website, Adam shares his favorite project about a 90-year-old lady who jumped out of an airplane.  Adam wrote the popular trilogy Those Darn Squirrels.  Daniel Salmieri is a gifted illustrator and children’s book artist who collaborated previously with Adam Rubin to create the read-alike Those Darn Squirrels.

More Read-alikes:  SImilarly fun books include The Day the Crayons Quit by Drew Daywalt and The Book With No Pictures by B. J. Novak.

Links:  Dragons Love Tacos website  Author’s Website  Illustrator’s Website   Scholastic   Activities for Kids  Amazon

Awards/Honors:  2012 New York Times Bestseller

Other Reviews Links:  Goodreads  Kirkus

Why I chose to review this book?  I chose to review this book because of its ridiculous title and humorous illustrations.  I am also evaluating and selecting materials for new media storytimes.  The book is available as an iBook for iPad.

3Make Reading More Fun


Written by Tom Schween, founder of storytimeWOW!