Duck on a Bike – you can do it!

th-3Animals react to Duck as he rides a bike around the farm.  Will Duck’s fun activity inspire the other animals?


Bibliographic Info:  Shannon, David  Duck on a Bike Blue Sky Press (2002)  Formats:  Hard- cover ISBN: 978-0439050234, Paperback, Audio CD, Audible. 40 pages.  Price: $17.99  Reading Level / Grade Level Equivalent: 1.8  Interest Level: preK-3  Genre: Comedy and Humor, Read Aloud  Major Themes:  Farm Animals, Bicycles, Animal Sounds


th-10Summary:  Once upon a time a farmyard duck gets an idea. “I bet I could ride a bike,” he thinks.  At first he was wobbly (but it was fun).  As he rides around the farm, we hear many animal’s thoughts about a duck riding a bike.  A pack of kids on bikes ride into the farmyard so fast, they do not notice the duck.  The kids leave their bikes in the yard and go inside and all the animals, inspired by duck, decide to try it.


StorytimeWow_FinalLogo-1Duck on a Bike was given the StorytimeWOW Marquee Seal on April 1st, 2015.  This book has been selected for the PictureBookWOW collection. Read below for storytime tips.


th-7Review:  When Shannon’s daughter was a toddler, she made animal noises before          she spoke.  Shannon combined his daughter’s moos, quacks and oinks with his own childhood love of bicycling to create the effervescent Duck on a Bike.  In this book, Shannon delightfully illustrates the story from the vantage point of a toddler (making it perfect as a read aloud). As the duck careens dangerously around the colorful barnyard and chickens scurry, a bright blue sky with puffy white clouds communicates a sense of optimism and comfort.  This bright, fun and funny story from the mind of David Shannon is a first-rate read aloud that will appeal to preschoolers through third graders.


Storytime Tips: getPart  Ask pre-readers for their help telling this story by encouraging them to read Duck’s repeated greetings.  Invent fun voices and personalities for each farm animal.  When you are done, ask children what parts of the story are real and what parts are pretend.


Bibliotherapeutic Usefulness:  This cheerful story may be used to encourage and inspire first time bike riders.

th-1Read-alikes:  No, David! (1998), Alice the Fairy (2004), Good Boy, Fergus! (2006)

Awards: 2003 ALA Notable Children’s Book Winner

Links:   Author’s Website, Scholastic, Amazon.com

Other Reviews Links:  ALA Booklist, Goodreads, Kirkus

Why I chose it:  I chose to review Duck on a Bike because of the fun humor that its cover illustration projects.

3Make Reading More Fun


Written by Tom Schween, founder of storytimeWOW!  Use your local library to check out books for free and get more recommendations.