Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site – captivating rhymes and appealing characters abound

9780545480581_xlg

One by one, the mighty trucks on a construction site begin to shut down and rest for the day.


Bibliographic Info:  Lichtenheld, Tom & Rinker, Sherri D. Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site Simon & Schuster (2011) 32pp.  Formats: Hardcover, ISBN: 978- 0811877824 $16.99, iBook, Kindle, Audible, Audio CD, App  Grade Level Equivalent: 3.4  Interest Level: preK-K  Genre: Bedtime, Rhyming  Themes: Building and Construction, Vehicles

Summary:  From bulldozer to dump truck, the mighty trucks on a construction site begin to shut down and rest for the day.  After each character performs its final job, it drifts off to dream land.


StorytimeWow_FinalLogo-1Goodnight, Goodnight, Construction Site was given StorytimeWOW’s Marquee Seal on May 12th, 2015.  This book has been selected for the Picture BookWOW and AppWOW collections on this site.


th-2Review:  In this picture book gem, the setting sun casts a glowing light across the construction site as all the hardworking trucks shut down for the day.  One by one, story readers and listeners meet a colorful cast of truck personalities, including Crane Truck, Cement Mixer, Dump Truck, Bulldozer, and Excavator.  While celebrating the joy of being a truck on a construction site, the story’s highly rhythmic verse casts a glowing light on the characters as well.  The book’s gentle and textured oil pastel illustrations are unforgettable.  This heartwarming picture book belongs on your family truck fan’s bookshelf.

th-1Storytime:  This picture book makes an ideal read-aloud for vehicle-themed or bedtime-themed storytimes.  It will definitely appeal to all those car and truck-loving toddlers and preschoolers.  It also makes an excellent bedtime book.  Ask children to help you tell the story during the “Goodnight” part of each truck’s mini-chapter.  Say something like “Cement Mixer is going to sleep!  What wish can we all send to Cement Mixer?”  Prompt kids to echo “Goodnight Cement Mixer!” 


th-5Read-alikes:  Little Blue Truck by Alice Schertle, Where Do Diggers Sleep at Night?, by Brianna Caplan Sayres, Giraffes Can’t Dance, by Giles Andreae

Links:  Author’s Website, Scholastic, Amazon

Other Review Links:  Common Sense Media, Goodreads, Kirkus App Review,

Why I chose to review this book?  This pajama storytime read-aloud’s captivating rhymes and appealing characters make for excellent group programming and bedtime  reading.

3Make Reading More Fun


Written by Tom Schween, founder of storytimeWOW!