Hop on Pop – the first steps to reading

th-3 17-45-20Watch and marvel as young children take their first steps as beginning readers with Hop on Pop.


Bibliographic Info:  Dr. Seuss Hop on Pop  Beginner Books/Random House (1963, 1991) 64pp Formats: Hardcover ISBN 978-0-394-80029-5 $7.99, Paperback/CD, Audible Audio Edition, Audio Cassette, Board Book, Kindle, iBook, App (2010)  Interest Level:  K-2  Reading Level Equivalent: 1.1  Genre: Beginning Reader, Classics, Comedy and Humor, Rhyming Story  Themes: Phonemic Awareness, Opposites, Contrasts


Summary:  In Hop on Pop, Dr. Seuss introduces beginning readers to very simple rhyming words and then uses them in short sentences.

th-2Review:  Hop on Pop is a dazzling display of Dr. Seuss’s talent for teaching children to read.  After kids learn one word, they find they can say two. Then multiple words. Then they can read simple sentences.  Dr. Seuss’s genius formula for success includes crazy characters and silly circumstances. His cartoons inspire new readers to work their way through each poem and colorful illustration.


th-1Storytime:  Read-alouds are the main dish on the group storytime menu.  Children are invited to listen and participate.  Hop on Pop is not a read-aloud.  It’s a dazzling beginning reader book.  The picture book works incredibly well for its intended purpose.  Instead of being read to, children are meant to read it themselves.  Parents and teachers will marvel as young learners become readers with this effective and entertaining classic in hand.


Early Childhood Education and Development:  

1.  Hop on Pop provides young children with the opportunity to use their SIx Pre-Reading Skills and begin to read on their own. Here are these six skills:

  • Knowing how to handle a book/eBook/app (print awareness)
  • Being interested in and enjoying books (print motivation)
  • Knowing the names of things (vocabulary)
  • Knowing that letters are different from each other, knowing their names and sounds, and recognizing them (letter knowledge)
  • Being able to hear and play with smaller sounds in words (phonological awareness)
  • Being able to describe things and events, being able to tell stories (narrative skills)

2. Hop on Pop provides parents with opportunities to utilize the following Early Literacy-Building Parent Practices (see full list of parent practices here):

  • Talking with kids and telling them stories helps them learn to express themselves and conversations.
  • Reading together is “the single most effective way to help children become proficient readers” (Every Child Ready to Read).
  • Playing is a primary way in which children learn language (and this book is very playful).

3. Hop on Pop cultivates the following Kindergarten Readiness skills (see full checklist here).  Children well-prepared for kindergarten are able to:

  • Recognize rhyming sounds
  • Speak understandably
  • Talk in complete sentences of five to six words
  • Look at pictures and then tell stories
  • Identify rhyming words
  • Identify the beginning sound in some words
  • Identify alphabet letters
  • Recognize some common sight words

4. Hop on Pop supports the following Common Core Guidelines (see full list here):

  • Add information-focused content and materials that broaden knowledge of the world.
  • Integrate new media materials and technology in classroom settings. Cultivate media literacy behaviors through modeling.
  • Increase focus on children’s comprehension through dialogic reading. Ask questions before, during and after telling stories.
  • Create a more participatory culture in group programs and classroom settings.  Use materials that invite participation and keep learners engaged.

5. Hop on Pop supports young children’s “emerging mental abilities” by providing opportunities for “key experiences” that strengthen and broaden these abilities (see full list here):

  • Using Language (describing events, objects and relations verbally)
  • Representing (relating pictures to real places and things)
  • Classification (labeling attributes, noticing and describing how things are the same and how they are different, holding more than one attribute in mind at a time)
  • Seriation (comparing which one is bigger-smaller, taller-shorter, etc…, arranging several things in order along same dimension and describing the longest one, the shortest one, etc…)
  • Temporal Relations (describing the order of events in words like earlier, later, a while ago, just, again, when, until, at the same time, first, next, last, first, second, third, before, during, after, since, while, describing different rates of movement such as fast and slow, using conventional time units like morning, afternoon, evening, day, night).
  • Spatial Relations (describing the positions of things in relation to each other, like in the middle, on the side of, on, off, on top of, over, above, under, below, beneath, underneath, bottom, top, in front of, in back of, behind, beside, next to, between, describing the direction of movement of things and people like to, from, into, out of, toward, away from, describing relative distances among things and locations like close, near, far, next to, apart, together).

th-5Significance:  Hop on Pop is part of the original Random House Beginner Books series by Dr. Seuss, which is described as “The Simplest Seuss for the Youngest Use” on the book’s cover.

Read-alikes:  Dr. Seuss’s ABC and Fox in Socks are more Beginner Books by Dr. Seuss.

Links:  Dr. Seuss website  Scholastic   Amazon  

Awards:  2001 Publishers Weekly‘s all-time best-selling hardcover books for children, 2007 National Education Association “Teachers’ Top 100 Books for Children”

Other Reviews:  Common Sense Media   Goodreads

I chose to review this book because I want to include the beginning reader category in this database (and Dr. Seuss is a great place to start).

3Make Reading More Fun


Written by Tom Schween, founder of storytimeWOW!