Llama Llama Red Pajama – a baby llama’s bedtime drama

thA fearful baby llama breaks down at bedtime.


Bibliographic Info:  Dewdney, Anna Llama Llama Red Pajama Viking 40pp. $17.99  Formats: Hardcover (2005) ISBN: 978- 0670059836, Paperback, Board Book, Kindle, iBook, iPad App, Audio CD, Audible Audiobook  Reading Level: 3.2  Interest Level: K-3  Genre: Bedtime Stories, Comedy and Humor  Major Themes: Confronting and Resolving Fears, Bedtime, Moms

th-5Summary:  After storytime and a kiss, Mama turns out the light.  But scared little Baby Llama melts down.  After a lot of freaking out, crying and shouting, busy Mama hears the drama and comes running to help.


StorytimeWow_FinalLogo-1Llama Llama Red Pajama was given the StorytimeWOW Marquee Seal on March 24th, 2015 and has been selected for the PictureBookWOW, Picture eBookWOW and AppWOW collections at storytimeWOW.com.


th-2Review:  A nurturing bedtime story, Llama Llama Red Pajama is also very funny tale that will warm the hearts of children, parents and caregivers. If you have ever experienced a young child’s bedtime breakdown, the story will ring true.  Dewdney’s twist on the bedtime routine features a cute and emotionally-expressive baby llama, rhymes, and illustrations that vividly portray all baby llama’s drama.  This delightful read aloud is sure to make kids and parents giggle.

th-6Storytime:  During storytime, call out the simple rhymes for repetition.  Whenever you say “Llama Llama”, cue children to repeat “Red Pajama”.  Emphasize the key highlighted words.  Have children mimic Baby Llama’s emotional exprerssions, just like his toy llama.

Bibliotherapeutic Usefulness:  This story is the perfect way to settle down a child a child having a rough go at bedtime.


Readalikes:  Readalikes include Adam Rubin’s “Dragons Love Tacos” and Helen Lester’s “A Porcupine Named Fluffy.”

Links:  author’s website, Llama Llama website, Scholastic

th-4Awards:  Jumpstart’s Read for the Record book in 2011; The Dolly Parton Foundation’s Imagination Library selection; Scholastic Parent and Child “100 Greatest Books for Kids” award winner; Bank Street “Best Children’s Book” recipient; Missouri Building Block Award winner; National Public Radio pick; Carolina Children’s Book Award Master List winner (picture book category).

Other Reviews Links:  Goodreads  Kirkus Reviews

I chose this book to help promote the children’s book theme of confronting and resolving fears through storytime programs.

3Make Reading More Fun


Written by Tom Schween, founder of storytimeWOW!