No, David! – a romp on the naughty side

thHome with Mom, a little rascal goes on a boisterous romp of bad behavior.


Bibliographic Info:  Shannon, David  No, David!  Scholastic, Inc. (1998)  Formats:  Hardcover: ISBN-10 0-590-93002-8  Paperback: ISBN-13 978-0-590-93002-4  Big Book  32pp.  Price: $15.99  Reading Level / Grade Level Equivalent: 1.1  Interest Level: preK-3  Genre: Comedy and Humor  Major Themes:  Conduct and Manners, Moms, Love

Summary:  David, a young boy, behaves badly.  Despite repeatedly being told “No, David!” by his Mom, he continues to act naughty and leaves a wake of destruction.  Finally, after he breaks a prized vase, David gets punished with a time out in the corner (which generates tears).  Fearful and sad, David is gently and lovingly reassured by his Mom.

StorytimeWow_FinalLogo-1No, David! was given the StorytimeWOW Marquee Seal on March 19th, 2015.  This book meets the StorytimeWOW Standards and has been selected for the PictureBookWOW collection.  Read the Storytime section below for tips on using this picture book in your storytime.


Review:  “No, David” is an outrageously funny read aloud and a page-turner.  It will hook listeners immediately, invite participation, and generate laughter.  Pages and spreads in this Caldecott Honor book by David Shannon feature relatable images of childhood antics that are endearing, moving, and sure to bring back memories for listeners (and readers).  The big, vibrant and exciting illustrations are like a flurry of zingers that hilariously portray David’s bad behavior.  “No, David” is a semi-autobiographical story about an energetic five-year old and his endless rule-breaking shenanigans. It features an emotionally satisfying ending for parent and child.

Bibliotherapeutic Usefulness:  This book provides parents, teachers, and caregivers with an opportunity to cultivate emotional development by discussing the themes of behavior and conduct. David’s mother expresses understandable emotion about David’s tomfoolery. Children may be asked how both characters are feeling and why the characters feel the way they do throughout the book.th-3

Significance:  “No, David” remains an extremely popular book.  It has spawned a series of sequels and “No, David!” merchandise.  The Caldecott award-winning illustrations have been widely praised.  However, they have also been widely criticized by parents for being frightening to children.

Storytime:  For a preK storytime or a classroom setting, “No, David!” is a first-rate read aloud.  Kindergarteners and elementary school children will enjoy it as well. This story invites participation and this participation should be encouraged. Common Sense Media described a reading of No, David during library storytime in this way.

“During a library read-aloud, a group of 4-year-olds readily took to the parental role, giving David a good tongue-lashing. For every crayon applied to the wallpaper, for every toy left carelessly on the floor they cried with glee, “No, David!” and then dissolved in giggles.”


 

th-2Read-alikes:  David Shannon wrote several sequels to “No, David!” which may be read in succession over several days or weeks to focus on the theme of conduct and manners. These are David Goes To School (1999), David Gets In Trouble (2002), David Smells! (2005), Oh, David! (2005), Oops! (2005), and It’s Christmas, David! (2010).

Links:  Author’s Website  Publisher’s Webpage   Scholastic Teaching Extension Ideas   Amazon.com

Awards: 1999 Caldecott Honor Book, 2007 National Education Association “Teachers’ Top 100 Books for Children, 2012 School Library Journal “Top 100 Picture Books” of all time

Other Reviews Links:  ALA Booklist  Goodreads  Kirkus

Why I chose it:  I chose this book because I was intrigued by its illustrations. I am also reviewing recent Caldecott winners and honorees that appropriate for storytime.

3Make Reading More Fun


Written by Tom Schween, founder of storytimeWOW!  Use your local library to check out books for free.