One Fish Two Fish Red Fish Blue Fish – sound it out and fill it in

th-3Entertaining rhymes and incredible imaginary creatures await beginning readers on these pages.


Bibliographic Info:  Dr. Seuss One Fish Two Fish Red Fish Blue Fish Random House (1960) 64pp Formats: Hardcover ISBN-13: 9780385372107,  Audiobook, iBook, Nook, Paperback, App  Interest Level: preK-2  Reading Level Equivalent: 1.1  Genre: Beginning Reader, Classics, Comedy and Humor, Read Aloud, Rhyming Story  Themes: Counting and Numbers, Colors, Letters, Phonological Awareness


Summary:  One Fish Two Fish Red Fish Blue Fish is a rhyming story that works both as a fun read aloud and as a manageable beginning reader.  It features a wild plot about two kids and a bunch of unusual critters.

th-8Review:  Enjoyable rhymes and incredible imaginary creatures in ridiculous situations make this an entertaining read-aloud (and a solid early reader).  Dr. Seuss provides children with rhyming words to fill in and sound out.  Preschoolers will enjoy the rhythmic poetry, zany creatures, and overall playfulness of this treasured and big-hearted classic in the world of children’s literature.


th-11Storytime:  In a group storytime, use the app (or iBook) with a large screen monitor or projector.  The app is the better choice because it includes fun sound effects, background audio, and simple animations that will create a more dynamic storytime experience for your participants.


Early Childhood Education and Development:  

1.  One Fish Two Fish Red Fish Blue Fish provides young children with the opportunity to use their SIx Pre-Reading Skills and begin to read on their own. Here are these six skills:

  • Knowing how to handle a book/eBook/app (print awareness)
  • Being interested in and enjoying books (print motivation)
  • Knowing the names of things (vocabulary)
  • Knowing that letters are different from each other, knowing their names and sounds, and recognizing them (letter knowledge)
  • Being able to hear and play with smaller sounds in words (phonological awareness)
  • Being able to describe things and events, being able to tell stories (narrative skills)

th-122. One Fish Two Fish Red Fish Blue Fish provides parents with opportunities to utilize the following Early Literacy-Building Parent Practices (see full list of parent practices here):

  • Talking with kids and telling them stories helps them learn to express themselves and conversations.
  • Reading together is “the single most effective way to help children become proficient readers” (Every Child Ready to Read).
  • Playing is a primary way in which children learn language (and this book is very playful).

3. One Fish Two Fish Red Fish Blue Fish cultivates the following Kindergarten Readiness skills (see full checklist here).  Children well-prepared for kindergarten are able to:

  • Recognize rhyming sounds
  • Speak understandably
  • Talk in complete sentences of five to six words
  • Look at pictures and then tell stories
  • Identify rhyming words
  • Identify the beginning sound in some words
  • Identify alphabet letters
  • Recognize some common sight words

4. One Fish Two Fish Red Fish Blue Fish supports the following Common Core Guidelines (see full list here):

  • Add information-focused content and materials that broaden knowledge of the world.
  • Integrate new media materials and technology in classroom settings. Cultivate media literacy behaviors through modeling.
  • Increase focus on children’s comprehension through dialogic reading. Ask questions before, during and after telling stories.
  • Create a more participatory culture in group programs and classroom settings.  Use materials that invite participation and keep learners engaged.

5. One Fish Two Fish Red Fish Blue Fish supports young children’s “emerging mental abilities” by providing opportunities for “key experiences” that strengthen or broaden these abilities (see full list here):

  • Using Language (describing events, objects and relations verbally)
  • Representing (relating pictures to real places and things)
  • Classification (labeling attributes, noticing and describing how things are the same and how they are different, holding more than one attribute in mind at a time)
  • Seriation (comparing which one is bigger-smaller, taller-shorter, etc…, arranging several things in order along same dimension and describing the longest one, the shortest one, etc…)
  • Temporal Relations (describing the order of events in words like earlier, later, a while ago, just, again, when, until, at the same time, first, next, last, first, second, third, before, during, after, since, while, describing different rates of movement such as fast and slow, using conventional time units like morning, afternoon, evening, day, night).
  • Spatial Relations (describing the positions of things in relation to each other, like in the middle, on the side of, on, off, on top of, over, above, under, below, beneath, underneath, bottom, top, in front of, in back of, behind, beside, next to, between, describing the direction of movement of things and people like to, from, into, out of, toward, away from, describing relative distances among things and locations like close, near, far, next to, apart, together).

th-10Significance:  13th on Publisher’s Weekly “All-Time Bestselling Children’s Books” (2001)

Read-alikes:  Dr. Seuss’s Happy Birthday to You! and Green Eggs and Ham.

Links:  Dr. Seuss website  lesson plan extension  Amazon  

Awards:  2007 National Education Association “Teachers’ Top 100 Books for Children.

Other Reviews:  Common Sense Media   Goodreads

I chose to review this work because the app was recommended to me by Litleelit.com for new media storytime programs.

3Make Reading More Fun


Written by Tom Schween, founder of storytimeWOW!