The Fantastic Flying Books of Morris Lessmore – stories never grow old

thIn this digital age of apps and eBooks, Morris reminds us to celebrate the stories (not their formats).


Bibliographic Info:  Joyce, William The Fantastic Flying Books of Morris Lessmore  Simon & Schuster (2012) 52pp.  Formats: Hardcover ISBN 978-1442457027  $18.99,  Paperback, Board Book, iBook, Kindle, App (WheelbarrowGrade Level Equivalent: 2.7  Interest Level: K-3  Genre: Read-Aloud Themes: Fantasy

Summary:  After Morris Lessmore loses his cherished book collection to a terrible storm.  he finds an old library with flying books. The stories protect and care for Morris as he age.

StorytimeWow_FinalLogo-1The Fantastic Flying Books of Morris Lessmore was given StorytimeWOW’s Marquee Seal on May 2nd, 2015.  This book has been selected for the Picture eBookWOW and AppWOW collections on this site.


th-2Review:   The Fantastic Flying Books of Morris Lessmore, a wonderful app about the life story of a dreamy book lover, followed an unusual film-to-book-to app production sequence.  This book-about-books has a deeply moving message about loss and healing that will appeal to all ages. The story suggests that while books are beautiful objects, what matters the most are the stories. Joyce’s magical 3-D artwork showcases a cast of books alive with personality.  Morris Lessmore stands up for book lovers and reminds us that stories live on only when we share them.

th-1Storytime:  The hotspots in The Fantastic Flying Books of Morris Lessmore enrich the experience of the main story.  Take some time to play with the app and choose from its many interactive elements to create a storytime experience that flows.


More Read-alikes:  The Lonely Book, It’s a Book and Dog Loves Books

Links:  Author’s Website, Scholastic, Amazon

Other Reviews Links:  Goodreads, Kirkus App Review, Publisher’s Weekly, Barnes & Noble

Why I chose to review this book?  I chose to review this book because it is a book about books that promotes the stories, an inspiring theme that deserve to be shared.

3Make Reading More Fun


Written by Tom Schween, founder of storytimeWOW!