The Wrong Book – “Go away! You’re in the wrong book!”

th-3Nicholas Ickle just wants to tell a story about himself, but characters from other stories keep popping up on his book’s pages.


Bibliographic Info:  Bland, Nick The Wrong Book  Scholastic Australia (2009) 32pp.  Formats: Hardcover ISBN 978-0545980340  $19.99,  Paperback, Board Book, eBook, App (WheelbarrowGrade Level: NA  Interest Level: ages 2-5  Genre: Comedy/Humor  Themes: Me


Summary:  Nicholas Ickle is an imaginative little dude trying to tell a good story, but every time he starts, his tale keeps being invaded by characters from other stories.  He barely can begin before he is interrupted by an elephant, monsters, a pirate, rats and even the Queen.


StorytimeWow_FinalLogo-1The Wrong Book was given StorytimeWOW’s Marquee Seal on April 15th, 2015.  This book was selected for the PictureBookWOW, Picture eBookWOW and AppWOW collections on this site.


th-4Review:   Although Nicholas Ickle’s tale wasn’t meant to be, The Wrong Book is still the right book.  This humorous read aloud grows funnier with each page.  Bland’s picture book shines as an app.  The app’s fun lies in the book’s delightful illustrations that come to life and playful, interactive and funny effects on every page.  The menu of options is accessible and clearly laid out.  Australian comic Frank Woodley brilliantly voices the narration.

th-7Storytime:  In groups or in one-on-one storytimes, The Wrong Book is great fun.  The story sweeps both reader and listener up in a funny premise that builds until the book’s conclusion.  Entertaining illustrations will make kids want to read it again.  The book includes repetitive text that encourages participation.  Whenever you say “Go away!”, have children voice the line “You’re in the wrong book!”

Bibliotherapeutic Usefulness:  Use dialogic reading throughout the story.  Ask children about Nicholas Ickle’s feelings.  What does Nicholas want?  How does he feel?  Have kids ever felt like Nicholas does in this story?


th-8More Read-alikes:  The Day the Crayons Quit by Drew Daywalt, The Book With No Pictures by B. J. Novak, The Very Cranky Bear and The Very Itchy Bear by Nick Bland

Links:  Author’s Webpage at Scholastic, Teacher Notes, Amazon

Awards/Honors:


Other Reviews Links:  Goodreads, eBooks in Schools, Kirkus App Review

Why I chose to review this book?  I chose to review The Wrong Book because of its compelling title and cover illustration. 

3Make Reading More Fun


Written by Tom Schween, founder of storytimeWOW!